Shell Series gets sandy

Shell Series gets sandy

Author: Media/Tuesday, May 26, 2015/Categories: State News

The Hervey Bay club hosted round four of the Shell Advance Sunshine State Series last weekend with competitors again faced with sandy conditions. The Hervey bay club puts in a big effort and with each return visit, you can see the improvements made to the venue. The entry road has been upgraded, there are shaded areas for the riders in the dummy grid and on the start line and this year, and a new track layout was used.

Most riders appreciate the effort clubs go to when they can see ad notice the change. Sometimes the track changes may not be perfect, but at least they tried to keep it interesting for the riders and making something new.

Numbers were a little lower than other rounds but racing was still strong across most of the classes. With the MX Nationals in full swing and on every other weekend, a lot of the national pros aren’t attending SSMX events so that gives other riders a chance to step up and take a class win.

Bailey Coxon did exactly that and won his first ever Pro Lites round at the SSMX. Jesse Madden chimed in for second place while Zak Small came home third. Nathan Crawford was looking good for the round win but a DNF in the final moto quashed any of his hopes.

Crawford will holds the lead in the series with Coxon in second and Small third.

Series coordinator took home some of his own coin after taking the win in the Pro Open class. Robbie Marshall was the man after Jesse Dobson didn’t contest the final two races. Brendan Swaffield was in second with Ricky Latimer in third.

Darcy Jones is leading the series from Jesse O’Farrell in second and Reece Hoffman in third.

The Intermediate classes saw James Wade- Gardner take the win in the Open division ahead of Matthew Kennedy and Jonah Tumata. Zye Zimmerman was the man in the Intermediate Lites just ahead of Zhane Dunlop and Ricky Hornage.

Luke Clem took out the win in the Clubmen open with Reegan Doo second and Baydon Vellacott in third. Quinn Turner won the Lites with Geoff Chalmers in second and fresh out of juniors, Jake Masters in third.

In the Junior ranks, it was again the Lawrence brothers show. Hunter won all his races in the 13-15 years 125 and 250cc while brother Jett did likewise in the 9-11 years 85cc and 10-12 years 65cc. Jake Williams won the 13-14 years Lites ahead of Bryce McLaughlin and Mason Rowe.

Rowe also picked up the win in the 12-15 years 85cc class with Joshua Livesy in second and Ashley Nichols in third. Jack Mather and Kobe Drew tied on points in the 7-9 65cc class with Mather getting the nod on a countback and Jacob Johnstone was the winner in the 50cc autos.

The next round of the Sunshine State Series will be at the Tivoli Circuit west of Brisbane on June 13 /14.

For more information on the series, keep an eye on the Facebook page. View the full results on MYLAPS here.



 Photos credit: Thea Taylor. 


Number of views (3445)/Comments (0)

Are you a club or rider with a story to tell?
Email with your news!

© 2014 - 2016 by Motorcycling Queensland