Juniors Finish in Style at Airoh Sunshine State MX Series Finale

Juniors Finish in Style at Airoh Sunshine State MX Series Finale

Author: Media/Monday, June 24, 2019/Categories: State News

It’s a busy time of year, and there’ve been a few delays in getting this report out, but better late than never. A big thanks to Rachelle, who on top of the million other things she handles in an Airoh weekend, manages to put together a report built from little more than the results sheet and a few well-timed looks at the racing in between other duties.

The Junior racing at the final round of the series maintained the high standard of skill and desire we’re accustomed to seeing from our juniors in the Airoh, and the action went a little bit like this;

The FXR 65cc 7-U10 years had a changing of the guard with young Lochlan Grant taking three out of three to get the overall.  This wasn’t enough to budge Peter Wolfe or Mr. Consistency, Lachlan Allen from first and second positions in the championship.

The Airoh Helmets 65cc 10-U12 years class was another standout performance for young Jake Cannon, with Hayden Downie causing the only blot on his near perfect series score. Downie won the first race of the day but with no points for race two this affected both his day and the series results. Jackson Fuller and Eamon Roberts raced a good round but not enough to secure top three of the series with Casey Wilmington taking the series 2nd place. Heath Fisher managed to retain third in the series after a crash in practice saw him unable to compete.

In the States MX Mini Lites 9 to Under 12 class Jake Cannon also took top spot in both the round and the Series.  Liam Owens came second overall for the weekend while Tahu Clarke and Casey Wilmington tied on equal points.  Tahu managed to maintain his position in the championships and maintained third in the championship behind the injured Heath Fisher.

In the Pirelli Mini Lites 12 to Under 14 class, young Braden Plath, Kobe Drew and Charli Cannon battled it out for the round win and to cement their overall series results.  Kobe won the round with Braden and Charli rounding out the podium.

Braden Plath took the Series honors with Kobe Drew right on his heels, being only 7 points off at the final curtain. Charli took third rung on the ladder.

In the Pirelli Mini Lites 14 to Under 16 years class it was Zachary Watson who took out the round honours and the Series honours. Zachary also won himself the series winner’s pair of TCX Comp Evo 2 Boots, compliments of Link International. The minor placings went to Kale Irwin and Kobi Wolff. Wolff was the chosen recipient of the States MX Wheel Set, also provided by Link International.

In the Civil Skill Junior Lites 13-U15 2T, Charli Cannon’s consistent haul of three, second-place results saw her a sparkling first round win for the series, in the process cementing third overall. Ryan Alexander was battling Zachary Watson for the overall series win but with no points to Alexanderson in the final race young Watson managed to capitalise and take the Series win.  Ryan still was able to take the second rung of the series with Charli Cannon taking out the 3rd step.

In the TCX Junior Lites 13-U15 years 4/ class there was a mixed bag of results with three races and three winners. Brock Sleader took the first, Ryan Alexanderson the second and Charlie Proudfoot the third win of the day. Charlie’s consistent top-four results saw him take the top podium spot by one point over Kai Bonning, with Matthew Plath third. Ryan Alexanderson held on to his place at the top of the series, with Charlie Proudfoot second and Kai Bonning third for the series.

In the Five Gloves Junior Lites 15 years 2T class we saw Levi Rogers and Luke Zielinski take out the top two positions for the day with Logan May and Harrison Purdey slugging it out for the third, with Logan ultimately winning out. For the overall Series results, the Number 1 Queensland rider Levi Rogers had an unblemished result with 630 out of a possible 630, while Luke Zielinski and Logan May were second and third for the Series.

In the Corsair Vehicle Solutions Junior Lites 4T 13-U15 class the same four riders battled it out throughout the series with a mirror image of the 2-stroke class overalls. This class was sponsored by Corsair Vehicle Solutions and Levi Rogers as the winner of the class was also awarded a Baja Designs Squadron Sport LED Light.

In the MPE 50cc Auto class, Kyle Harvey dominated both the round and the series with Jaxon Downing and Lewis Fretwell finishing second and third in both.


Number of views (251)/Comments (0)

Are you a club or rider with a story to tell?
Email media@mqld.org.au with your news!

© 2014 - 2016 by Motorcycling Queensland