Author: Media/Wednesday, June 05, 2019/Categories: State News

While Saturday’s junior day at the Goondiwindi Airoh series kept the host club’s hands full controlling the dust, the situation reversed dramatically on Sunday with the predicted rain turning the track into a true test for the mud masters.


The racing was called after completion of Round 2 racing, and by the end of their races, riders looked like mud-coated figurines. And while some reveled in the conditions – maybe the ones deprived of playing mud pies when younger – others fought the hard fight.


Mason Rowe took out round honours in the Shell Advance Pro QMX1 followed by Series defending champion Joel Rizzo and Connor McNamara.
Jayce Cosford battled through the goop to win the Southside Auto Auctions QMX2 class, with Cody Schat and Dusty Clem completing the podium.


The Veterans and Women’s classes were combined for the Goondiwindi round, and Ebony Nielsen broke through for her first Airoh round win – she passed race one winner and series leader Tahlia Drew in the second moto to set up the tie, which she won on countback. Lauren Jones was third. This was no walk in the park for the girls, more like ice skating at the local rink.


In the Shell Advance Intermediate QMX1 class Robbie Murchison and Jeremy Lobb equaled in points but Robbie came out on top with the higher final race finish, followed by Samuel Lyttle and Sam Larsen.


In the Southside Auto Auctions Intermediate QMX2 class James Beston managed to make the most of the conditions by gaining two first place finishes, followed in by Jack Kukas and Dylan Walker.


The MX Store Clubman QMX2 class saw Reon Ward take the two round wins over Joel Antees and Joel Carmichael.
The Five Gloves QMX1 Clubman Open class had the top four maintain their pecking order with Brody Barton out on top, Jake Huhse and Jack Borg taking out the minor placings.


In the Vets Race, Chris Nicholls got the better of a tie-breaker with Ashley Erbacher, while Andrew Gifford was third.
Competitive racing in the Corsair Vehicle Solutions Junior Lites 4t 15 Years class consistently saw Levi Rogers, then daylight, then Luke Zielinski, then more daylight, with Harrison Purdy coming in third on the day.


A strong final moto in the TXC Junior Lites 4/ 13-U15 years class from Brock Sleader wasn’t enough to keep Ryan Alexanderson from taking the overall. Sleader’s win in the Final Moto landed him on the second step of the podium with Charlie Proudfoot taking third.


Jake Cannon was in form in the Airoh Helmets 65cc 10-U12 years and delivered a trifecta of wins that took patience and skill on the technical Goondiwindi track. Tough competitor Heath Fisher and Jett Williams rounded out the top 3 after plenty of on-track action.


In the FXR 65cc 7-U10 Years category, Lachlan Allen ground away to secure three wins but it wasn’t without plenty of challenges. Cooper Downing took the last moto holeshot and made a great race to the checkers. A top line of riders had great results to provide plenty of on track excitement for the Goondiwindi crowd. With Allen topping the podium over Downing and Peter Wolfe.


Great starts helped Braden Plath to victory in the Pirelli Mini Lites 12-u14 class, but it was his riding ability that sealed the deal, under plenty of pressure from Kobe Drew, Charli Cannon, Jayden Binger and Damon Erbacher, who all held great position and achieved great results.
Plath triumphed over Drew, with Cannon third.


In the Pirelli Mini Lites 14-U16 years class, Zac Watson looked strong on the bike even with a small mishap in the second moto still managed to keep the wolf at bay, in this case the wolf being Kobi Wolff, who finished second over Kale Irwin.


Heath Fisher took the opportunities when they presented themselves in the States MX Mini Lites 9-u12 years class, in possibly some of the best racing of the day. A standout was Tahunui Clarke who found form to register a pair of thirds only to have a bad run in the last moto. Fisher rose to the top step when Jake Cannon faulted in moto two with a very strong Casey Wilmington taking third in the overall results.


Campbell O’Donnell come out off gates well in the opening Civil Skill Junior Lites 2T 13-U15 years
moto to take the opening win, and narrowly missed out on the win after Ryan Alexanderson’s 2-2-1 trumped all. Kobi Wolff was third on the day, while moto two winner Zachary Watson was fourth.


Levi Rogers launched off good starts to take three wins in the Five Gloves Junior Lites 15 years 2T class, while Luke Zielinski’s efforts were rewarded with second overall and Logan May thanking his team for the 3rd place result.


The MPE 50cc Auto 7-U9 was an awesome race throughout the day. When the dust settled it was Kyle Harvey with three hard-fought wins from Jaxon Downing. From

3rd to 5th, no one wanted to put pen to paper until the final lap for each race, Lewis Fretwell taking the final podium position..


The final round of the Airoh series will be at Coolum in two weeks’ time.


Number of views (331)/Comments (0)

Are you a club or rider with a story to tell?
Email with your news!

© 2014 - 2016 by Motorcycling Queensland