CQ Battle to Rage on in Rocky

CQ Battle to Rage on in Rocky

Author: Media/Thursday, March 14, 2019/Categories: State News

The battle lines are drawn, and the racing promises to be hard and fast as 230 competitors will take to Rockhampton’s 6 Mile Raceway this weekend for Round 2 of the 2019 Central Queensland MX Series.
The loamy 6 Mile Circuit situated on the banks of the Fitzroy River will again present a tough and tricky proposition to challenge competitors. Racers can expect the track to transition from very soft to extremely rough with deep ruts and energy-sapping braking bumps as the race meeting progresses.
With RADMX hosting the 2020 Australian Junior Nationals the junior fields are stacked with some of Australia’s best racers all looking to learn the nuances of the circuit.
The 85cc Small Wheel division will see provide some great action at the front of the pack with series leader Jason West going up against Koby Tate, Darci Whalley, Logan Smith, Slade Oberhardt, Luke Constantine and Halley Ball.
A bulging 27-bike field will line up for the start of the Mini Lites 12-16years. Zac Watson and Ty Souter (1st and 2nd in round 1) will face some tough competition this round with Deegan Mancinelli and Kobe Drew making the trip to 6 Mile Raceway.
These riders will face a talent-rich Junior Lites class that includes a Brad West, who is currently in top form.
West is fast wherever he goes but he particularly likes riding at Rockhampton and will be very hard to beat.
Nicole Kenny dominated the Womens Class last time round, and is expected to show no mercty to her opponents at 6 Mile Raceway, the scene of her 2016 QLD Women’s Championship victory.
Beau Dargell and Mitchell Dark will have the home track advantage in the MX1 class but will need to be at their best against Far North Qld’s Luke Weaver, who in the absence of Tye Jones - who is off racing Nationals - will be looking to run rampant in the points.
Beau and Luke will get a further chance to battle it out as they go head-to-head in the MX2 class.

Pics: Luke Weaver #16, Nicole Kenny #41, Zac Watson #44 and Jason West #47.

Number of views (580)/Comments (0)

Are you a club or rider with a story to tell?
Email media@mqld.org.au with your news!

© 2014 - 2016 by Motorcycling Queensland