Privateer Wagner Wins Again to Take the Round at the Island

Privateer Wagner Wins Again to Take the Round at the Island

Author: Media/Monday, February 25, 2019/Categories: State News

Wamuran's Aiden Wagner (Yamaha YZF-R1) has brought Round 1 of the 2019 Motul Pirelli Australian Superbike Championship (ASBK) to a thrilling climax at Phillip Island during the FIM World Superbike Championship (WSBK) weekend, claiming Race 3 ahead of 2015 Australian Superbike Champion Mike Jones to secure the round win.
Wagner had earlier claimed the race 2 win, and lead for much of race 1, only to make a small error coming onto the main straight and allow Wayne Maxwell to claim the win.
Fellow Queenslander Mike Jones powered his Kawasaki ZX10R to fourth for the round, while Gold Coaster and defending champion Troy Herfoss struggled to find the pace the entire weekend on his Honda, battling to sixth.
Troy Bayliss suffered a wretched start to the championship. Well positioned in Race 1, he went flying into the gravel trap after an attempted pass on Wayne Maxwell ended in contact, and was forced to withdraw from the weekend.

ASBK Superbike Championship Standings After Round 1:
1 Aiden WAGNER (Yamaha YZF-R1) 71
2 Cru HALLIDAY (Yamaha Racing Team, Yamaha YZF-R1) 55
3 Josh WATERS (Team Suzuki ECSTAR, Suzuki GSX-R EL R)50
4 Michael JONES (K and R Hydraulics, Kawasaki ZX10R) 49
5 Bryan STARING (Kawasaki BCperformance, Kawasaki ZX10RR) 48
6 Troy HERFOSS (Penrite Honda Racing, Honda CBR RR SP) 41
7 Wayne MAXWELL (Team Suzuki ECSTAR, Suzuki GSX-R EL R) 40
8 Glenn ALLERTON (NextGen Motorsports, BMW S RR) 40
9 Daniel FALZON (Yamaha Racing Team, Yamaha YZF-R1) 32
10 Ted COLLINS (NextGen Motorsports, BMW S RR) 31

Number of views (362)/Comments (0)

Are you a club or rider with a story to tell?
Email with your news!

© 2014 - 2016 by Motorcycling Queensland