Troy Herfoss Secures 2018 YMI Superbike Championship

Troy Herfoss Secures 2018 YMI Superbike Championship

Gold Coaster Wraps up the Big One

Author: Media/Monday, September 10, 2018/Categories: State News

Troy Herfoss (Penrite Honda Racing, CBR1000SP) has captured the 2018 YMI Superbike Championship, in what was an epic showdown at the presents Round 6 of the Yamaha Motor Finance Australian Superbike Championship presented by Motul Pirelli (ASBK). The Gold Coast resident managed to wrap up the championship with a round to spare.

Herfoss took out the first race at Winton, which was filled with drama from the outset. He clawed his way through the field after a bad start, to be followed by Waters and Bayliss on the podium. Crucially Herfoss had got the job done on the previous lap for his victory to be secured.

Arthur Sissis (SA Demolition & Salvage, Honda CBR1000RRSP) had a phenomenal race to achieve fourth place and he appeared to have his Honda well dialed in. Daniel Falzon (Yamaha Racing Team, Yamaha YZF-R1) finished fifth, with Superbike rookies Mark Chiodo (Team Suzuki ECSTAR, GSX-R1000R and Ted Collins (NextGen Motorsports, BMW S1000RR) recording their best ever results in sixth and seventh.

The fans would have to wait till race two to see if Herfoss could wrap up the title.

The second YMI Superbike race two was once again full of drama, with Maxwell taking the ascendency on lap two. Unfortunately crashes by Chiodo and Jamie Stauffer (Craig McMartin Racing, Ducati 1299 Panigale) would cause a red flag.

When the race restarted, Nathan Spiteri (Livson, Suzuki GSX-R1000R) also crashed, causing yet again another red flag. Upon the third restart, the race would be reduced to 12 laps and Bayliss would lead from Maxwell and Waters.

Maxwell made his move on lap three and looked to avenge his crash in race one. In the meantime, Herfoss was content in fourth, holding the championship points advantage he needed to secure the championship.

At half distance, Waters was the fastest rider on track and his Suzuki and was all over Bayliss in second. Waters got the job done on Bayliss on lap 10 and moved into second. Herfoss made a mistake and went too deep into a corner, then backed off to ensure he won the championship, with Staring passing him on the final lap.

The Honda rider had done enough however, as Maxwell crossed the line to win the race, Herfoss secured the 2018 YMI Superbike Championship.
Herfoss was very emotional to secure his second ASBK Championship, while joining Maxwell on the podium were Waters and Bayliss in second and third.

Herfoss sharing after he winning the title; “That was too stressful! We had a bad start and actually had a problem with the quick shifter. I wouldn’t mind going old school but it was cutting in and out. I’m just so happy because we’ve worked so hard and my rivals have been strong. To win it with a round to go, I wouldn’t have dreamt of it. Congratulations to the whole team! Wayne really had to work for that win and I’m sure he’s already planning next year’s assault.”

Maxwell commenting; “It’s been and up and down day and year and sometimes that doesn’t equate to the effort you put in. There has been a bit of friction at times but I’ve always had the same goals as my team and it was great to end Troy’s winning streak. Congratulations to Troy winning the Championship.”

The championship may have been decided, but ASBK now looks forward to the championship finale at ‘The Island’ October 12-14. Its sure to be a great way to send off season 2018, with six classes battling it out for bragging rights.

YMI Superbike Championship Points:
1 Troy HERFOSS Honda 256.5
2 Wayne MAXWELL Yamaha 212
3 Troy BAYLISS Ducati 194
4 Daniel FALZON Yamaha 186
5 Josh WATERS Suzuki 185.5
6 Bryan STARING Kawasaki 171.5
7 Alex PHILLIS Suzuki 127
8 Glenn ALLERTON BMW 124
9 Matt WALTERS Kawasaki 112
10 Mark CHIODO Suzuki 83.5

Number of views (690)/Comments (0)

Are you a club or rider with a story to tell?
Email with your news!

© 2014 - 2016 by Motorcycling Queensland