Levy Second at Morgan Park

Levy Second at Morgan Park

Crump, Bayliss Unlucky

Author: Media/Monday, August 20, 2018/Categories: State News

Tom Bramich (JLT, Yamaha YZF-R3) has extended his championship lead in the Australian Supersport 300 class, after taking the overall victory at Morgan Park. With three different winners, this has been a weekend to remember in the Yamaha Motor Finance Australian Superbike Championship presented by Motul Pirelli (ASBK).

Race Two
Seth Crump takes victory in an absolute thriller. The first race on Sunday was full of incidents which included a collision between Locky Taylor (Shark Leathers, Yamaha YZF-R3) and Hunter Ford (YRD, Yamaha YZF-R3) which cut the race short on the penultimate lap with a red flag.

The race was off to a flyer, with Harry Khouri’s (Excite Motorsports, YZF-R3) bike going airborne in the final turn. Luckily, he got to his feet shortly after. The fight at the front of the field was an absolute barnstormer with multiple overtakes on just about every corner.

As the race reached the closing stages on the penultimate lap, the top eight was spread by only 1.397s and everyone was going all out for victory. Unfortunately, Taylor crashed and took out Ford underneath the bridge section of the track, at turn three.

As a result of the crash a red flag came out, due to debris on the track. The results were called back to lap seven. Taylor would be disqualified for causing the red flag.

Taking the victory with the callback was Crump, who is now one of ‘in form’ riders in the field. Coming in second was Bramich, followed by Ford who finished on the podium due to the results being reverted to the previous lap.

Oli Bayliss (Cube Racing, Kawasaki Ninja) came in fourth, with Zac Levy (Puma RV's, Yamaha YZF-R3) fifth, Tayla Relph (Earmold Australia, Yamaha YZF-R3) sixth and Travis Hall (Ricondi Road & Race, Yamaha YZF-R3) in seventh.

Crump sharing after the victory; “Winning my first ASBK race in Darwin was special, but we have moved on here to try my best to get another. That was a very interesting race with the red flag situation. Big thanks to Garry McCoy for all his help in the last couple of days here at Morgan Park.”

Australian Supersport 300 Race Two Provisional Results
1. Seth CRUMP (Rock Oil, KTM RC 390)
2. Tom BRAMICH (JLT, Yamaha YZF-R3)
3. Hunter FORD (YRD, Yamaha YZF-R3)
4. Oli BAYLISS (Cube Racing, Kawasaki Ninja)
5. Zac LEVY (Puma RV's, Yamaha YZF-R3)
6. Tayla RELPH (Earmold Australia, Yamaha YZF-R3)
7. Travis HALL (Ricondi Road & Race, Yamaha YZF-R3)
8. Max STAUFFER (Rock Oil, Yamaha YZF-R3)
9. Zane FORD (YRD, Yamaha YZF-R3)
10. Mitch KUHNE (Shark Leathers, Yamaha YZF-R3)

Race Three
With race two being such a thriller, the afternoon’s race had a lot to live up to. Luckily it managed to deliver upon the great exceptions. Taking the win was Bramich after a last lap tussle with Levy and Taylor for the podium placings.

The race started off with Bayliss and Crump being imposed with 10 second penalties for jumping the start. This put them out of race victory contention from the get go.

As the leaders crossed the finish line, they were spread out by only .884s amongst the top five. Taking the victory was Bramich, followed by Levy, Taylor, Ford and Stauffer. The result further extending Bramich’s hold on the Australian Supersport 300 championship.

Bramich stating; “I’m really happy to get that win after a difficult weekend. At times, I was probably thinking too much about the championship. It was another super close 300 race and I’m stoked for the team and my sponsors.”

It was a great result for Bramich who not only took the round victory but also extends his championship points lead. Not a bad result considering it was a difficult weekend at times for Bramich, who has been sensational this season.

The current points standings have Bramich with 282 points ahead of Levy with 252 and Bayliss with 220. The next time we will see the Australian Supersport 300 class will be at Winton Motor Raceway!

Australian Supersport 300 Race Three Provisional Results
1. Tom BRAMICH (JLT, Yamaha YZF-R3)
2. Zac LEVY (Puma RV's, Yamaha YZF-R3)
3. Locky TAYLOR (Shark Leathers, Yamaha YZF-R3)
4. Hunter FORD (YRD, Yamaha YZF-R3)
5. Max STAUFFER (Rock Oil, Yamaha YZF-R3)
6. Seth CRUMP (Rock Oil, KTM RC 390)
7. Harry KHOURI (Excite M-sports, Yamaha YZF-R3)
8. Oli BAYLISS (Cube Racing, Kawasaki Ninja 300
9. Travis HALL (Ricondi Road & Race, Yamaha YZF-R3)
10. Kyle O'CONNELL (Yamaha YZF-R3)

2018 ASBK Calendar
Round 6- Winton Motor Raceway, Benalla, VIC September 7 - 9
Round 7- Phillip Island Grand Prix Circuit, VIC October 12 – 14

Follow Us:
To stay up to date with everything ASBK, head to www.asbk.com.au, like ASBK on Facebook, or follow on Instagram via ‘ASBK’.

Photos courtesy of Andrew Gosling tbg sport

Number of views (765)/Comments (0)

Are you a club or rider with a story to tell?
Email media@mqld.org.au with your news!

© 2014 - 2016 by Motorcycling Queensland