Hopey Coughs up Some Pearlers from the Winter Sizzler

Hopey Coughs up Some Pearlers from the Winter Sizzler

Author: Media/Tuesday, August 14, 2018/Categories: State News

Ace speedway shooter and writer Steve Hope has coughed up some photographic gold from the recent Winter Sizzler at Mick Doohan Raceway so we thought we’d run it, as well as the accompanying text, by way of explanation.

Take it away Steve.

“A resurgent Ryan Douglas stormed to victory, beating a quality field to win the annual Winter Sizzler at Brisbane’s Mick Doohan Raceway.

It was the second major win this month for the former Scunthorpe star, who took out Bill Warwick-day’s MEM Handle Bar Heroes at the Rockhampton Showground two weeks ago.

With Zaine Kennedy and Kye Thomson in Europe on Aussie U21 World Cup duty, and Jedd List and Josh Coyne racing in Denmark, the solo division received a much-needed boost with the addition of former U.K. based professionals: Christian Henry, Hugh Skidmore, Tyson Nelson and Douglas.

As expected, the U.K. experienced guys dominated, but were pushed hard by Declan Kennedy, Tyson Snow and Joel Coyne, who all scored 11 points.

Skidmore went through the heats unbeaten, dropping his only point of the day to Douglas in the final. While Nelson and Henry were fast from the get-go, showing no signs of the time spent away from the sport.

With only a handful of meetings between them on 500cc machines, James Gauld and Cordell Rogerson, both just 16-years-old, bagged a bunch of points to continue their impressive start to senior speedway.

Jamie Moohan / Bayley Ogilvie were impressive, winning the sidecar final from Dave Hagel / Chris Howard and Mark Mitchell / Tony Carter in third. While Flynn Nicol took the win in the 125cc division from a rapidly improving Tate Zischke.”

1st – Ryan Douglas
2nd – Hugh Skidmore
3rd – Joel Coyne
4th – Declan Kennedy

1st – Flynn Nicol
2nd – Tate Zischke
3rd – Blake Warrington
4th – Lachlan Hawgood

1st – Jamie Moohan / Bayley Ogilvie
2nd – Dave Hagel / Chris Howard
3rd – Mark Mitchell / Tony Carter
4th – Tim Lawrence / Chris Johnstone

Number of views (688)/Comments (0)

Are you a club or rider with a story to tell?
Email media@mqld.org.au with your news!

© 2014 - 2016 by Motorcycling Queensland