Dean Does It

Dean Does It

Wardy on the Podium

Author: Media/Monday, August 06, 2018/Categories: State News

CDR Yamaha Monster Energy Team’s Dean Ferris has successfully defended his Thor MX1 title with yet another dominant display of racing at the ninth round of the 2018 Pirelli MX Nationals at Gladstone, Queensland.

Ferris wrapped up the 2018 championship with a moto one victory, but still didn’t rest on his laurels in the second race as he chalked up another perfect 1-1 result from the day’s two races. Penrite Honda Racing’s Brett Metcalfe finished the day second overall and Davey Motorsports Husqvarna rookie Caleb Ward filled the round podium.

Despite carrying a 106-point lead into Gladstone, Ferris proved from the outset he meant business. He topped the qualifying sheets, then quickly took command of the opening race, eventually leading a hard-charging Metcalfe across the line by 3.2s and wrapping up the championship with three races in hand. Raceline Pirelli KTM’s Mitch Evans finished a comfortable third, followed by Ward and Ferris’ CDR Yamaha Monster Energy Team comrade Dylan Long.

In the second Thor MX1 outing, Ferris continued to pour salt on the wounds of his rivals by grabbing the holeshot and leading wire-to-wire, with Ward a career-best second at his home race. Metcalfe crossed the line in a lonely third, followed by Evans (who initially finished second, but was penalised two positions for passing under a yellow flag) and Long in fifth.

It was a strong day for several other Queenslanders, with Mitch Evans following Ward home in fourth and Zak Small an impressive in eighth on the day after his best round of the series.

1. Dean Ferris (Yamaha) 70
2. Brett Metcalfe (Honda) 62
3. Caleb Ward (Husqvarna) 60
4. Mitch Evans (KTM) 58
5. Dylan Long (Yamaha) 52
6. Luke Clout (KTM) 48
7. Callum Norton (Husqvarna) 48
8. Zak Small (Husqvarna) 45
9. Joben Baldwin (Yamaha) 42
10. Charlie Creech (Honda) 40

MX Nationals Championship points (MX1):
1 Dean Ferris 629
2 Mitch Evans 507
3 Luke Clout 498
4 Dylan Long 454
5 Brett Metcalfe 454
6 Caleb Ward 444
7 Rhys Carter 417
8 Joel Wightman 337
9 Kade Mosig 321
10 Zak Small 311


Number of views (682)/Comments (0)

Are you a club or rider with a story to tell?
Email with your news!

© 2014 - 2016 by Motorcycling Queensland