Battle for the Q-Plate is About to Get Real

Battle for the Q-Plate is About to Get Real

Author: Media/Wednesday, July 04, 2018/Categories: State News

As the battle for this year's Queensland plate bursts into life this weekend at Six-Mile Raceway, Rockhampton, the MX Subcommittee is pleased to announce FXR as Co-Sponsor of the Qld Motocross Championships.

FXR is a familiar supporter in Queensland Motocross Championship circles, and its invovement in the two-round 2018 series adds further signifance of the state's premier trophy.

For a state the size of five of six European countries, the Queensland championship is annual opportunity for the best riders from the three regions - South-East Queensland, Central Queensland and the renowned rider factory of the Tropical North Queensland - to prove who truly reigns.

This weekend's opener sees last year's dual class Champion - Toowoomba's Kaleb Barham - back for both the QMX1 (Open) and QMX2 (Lites) classes, and he'll be craving nothing less than a successful defence of those titles across the two rounds.

The Mladin Husqvarna rider has been a regular fixture on the national circuit for 4 years, and has been rapidly acquiring the experience to augment his tremendous talent, but the challengers to his crowns have formed a line.

'King in the North' Luke Weaver is hungry to claim the throne after last year's two runner-up positions, and his clear position as TNQ Championship leader suggests the Yamaha rider is again fit, fast and ready to bring it.

Former MX pro Robbie Marshall has assumed something of a gatekeeper status in Queensland motocross, but this year he's aiming to be much more than just the bar the youngsters have to reach in order to progress.
Refreshed and rejuvenated, the 34-year-old is surfing a wave of training and racing momentum, and is on a mission to join the likes of legends Peter Melton and Mick Cook as the oldest Queensland Championship winners in history.

That said, the inclusion of North Queenslander Mitch Evans could be a game-changer, as the KTM rider currently lies second in the premier class of the MX Nationals in his rookie year.

The action doesn't stop when the big boys do, either, as the next generation is already champing at the bit to prove itself. A full stack of juniors will be wanting to collect some glassware, with the likes of Ty Jones (CQ) and Jai Walker (SEQ) battling it out in the Junior Lites classes.

Ten Junior Championship classes will provide ongoing battles throughout the weekend, as Queensland currently boasts three current junior National Champions in the Junior classes – Jet Alsop, Noah Ferguson and Charli Cannon.

The kids will be highly motivated - the imminent selection of the Queensland Junior Motocross Team to compete in the nationals in Tasmania will be augmented by the prospect of a Q1-Q10 Plate worthy of sending straight to the pool room.

The event format sees practice and Round 1 on Saturday, with two races for each class on Sunday.

The second round of this year's championship takes place at Hervey Bay on July 28/29

Last year's senior Q-Plate recipients were:

1. Kaleb Barham
2. Luke Weaver
3. Robbie Marshall
4. Kerrod Morrissy
5. Zac Small
6. Marcus Swifte
7. Mathew Torrington
8. Travis Regeling
9. Sam Lindsay
10. David Neven

1. Kaleb Barham
2. Luke Weaver
3. Ryan Eden
4. Zhane Dunlop
5. Wilson Norman
6. Daniel Boyce
7. Cody Hall
8. Liam Wilson
9. Darcy Cavanagh
10. Bailey Davis

Number of views (1712)/Comments (0)

Are you a club or rider with a story to tell?
Email with your news!

© 2014 - 2016 by Motorcycling Queensland