Big Guns Share the Honours at Queensland Long Track Title

Big Guns Share the Honours at Queensland Long Track Title

Author: Media/Wednesday, April 04, 2018/Categories: State News

Three of Queensland dirt track racing's fiercest and most accomplished warriors; Damien Koppe, Jarred Brook and Kayden Downing all took a share of the gold as the 2018 Qld Long Track titles took place on Easter Saturday.

The Townsville Motorcycle Club fought a week-long battle with rain - one which eventually brought Sunday's Queensland Dirt Track Championship to a premature end mid-program, but not before a cracker Long Track championship could be fought out over the longer distance the day before.

"We spent the whole week draining track," said Townsville MCC's Vice President Damien Koppe, "and it turned out just awesome for the Saturday, but on Sunday a huge downpour came and we couldn't do anything about it."

"There was some great racing though," he continued. "Apart from Brisbane, Townsville is the strongest part of the state for dirt track, and we've got heaps of heaps of junors doing awesome at the moment. Cooper Anderson, Hunter Penhallurick and Brayden Bradford were all going great on Saturday and are all Townsville riders going paces."

Koppe wasn't going to badly himself, fighting off determined opposition to take the Pro 450cc category, while another Central Queenslander, Kayden Downing, won the MX Open category, and Jarred Brook took out the Pro Open and the Pro 250 class.

Briony Hendrickson added another Queensland Championship to her tally, taking out the Pro Open Women from Amy Wedd and Nikki-Lee Keys.

The following day's dirt track title was rained out in the middle of the crucial third round of heats, leaving a decision of how to classify the event to the upcoming Dirt Track Subcommittee meeting.

The junior action was fast and furious. A week after his Stoner Cup hat-trick, Harrison Voight pulled another - winning the 10-14 85cc 4-stroke Modified, the 9-13 65cc and 11-13 85cc Big Wheel Queensland Championships.

Other junior riders to bag multiple titles were Riley Nauta (50cc Div 2, and 65cc 7-9) and Cyshan Weale (2T/4T combined and 250cc 4T 13-15), who both took home a pair of first-place trophies.

Awesome action shots supplied by Tony Taylor Photographics.

Results for 2018 Long Track Titles             

50cc Auto Div 2.               

1st          Riley Nauta

2nd        Cooper Archibald

3rd         Jordy Loftus


65cc 9-u13yrs   

1st          Harrison Voight

2nd        Brayden Bradford

3rd         Jett Kubelka


65cc 7-u9yrs      

1st          Riley Nauta

2nd        Cooper Archibald

3rd         Roque Da Silva


85cc 4st Mod 7-u10yrs  

1st          Jett Kubelka

2nd        Riley Nauta

3rd         Aston Davies


85cc 4st Mod 10-u14yrs

1st          Harrison Voight

2nd        Anika Loftus

3rd         Ashleigh Adamson


85cc 2st/150cc 4st SW 9-u11yrs

1st          Brayden Bradford

2nd        Joel Sexton

3rd         Aston Davies


85cc 2st/150cc 4st SW 11-u13yrs              

1st          Cooper Andersen

2nd        Jackson Archibald

3rd         Harrison Voight


85cc 2st/150cc 4st BW 11-u13yrs             

1st          Harrison Voight

2nd        Cooper Andersen

3rd         Jackson Archibald


85cc 2st/150cc 4st SW & BW Female 11-u16yrs 

1st          Katarna Robinson

2nd        Ashleigh Adamson

3rd         Madison Olsen


100-150cc 2st/200-250cc 4st 13-u16yrs 

1st          Cyshan Weale

2nd        Tristan Adamson

3rd         Billy Baker


100-150cc 2st 13-u16yrs               

1st          Tristan Adamson

2nd        Cyshan Weale

3rd         Billy Baker


200-250cc 4st 13-u16yrs               

1st          Cyshan Weale

2nd        Tristan Adamson

3rd         Hunter Penhallurick


Under 19yrs       

1st          Harrison Maxwell

2nd        Jack Baker

3rd         Ben Montgomery



Pro Open Women           

1st          Briony Hendrickson

2nd        Amy Wedd

3rd         Nikki-Lee Keys


500cc Slider       

1st          Dale Borlase

2nd        Chucky Lee Burgess

3rd         Wayne Greenslade


Pro 250

1st         Jarred Brook

2nd        Jack Baker

3rd         Harrison Maxwell


Pro 450

1st         Damien Koppe

2nd        Kayden Downing

3rd         Jarred Brook


MX Open            

1st         Kayden Downing

2nd        Jarred Brook

3rd         Ben Montgomery


Pro Open            

1st         Jarred Brook

2nd        Damien Koppe

3rd         Kayden Downing


Number of views (1712)/Comments (0)

Are you a club or rider with a story to tell?
Email with your news!

© 2014 - 2016 by Motorcycling Queensland