2017 Gary Moon Memorial

2017 Gary Moon Memorial

Author: Media/Tuesday, October 10, 2017/Categories: State News

It was a spectacular night of speedway in Townsville as Tyler Moon and Adam Lovell clinched the title of 2017 Gary Moon Memorial Champions.  A fitting result for Tyler, in a meeting dedicated to his father.  Gary was an exceptional sidecar racer from Queensland, winning Queensland, Australian and World Championships and had his life cut short in a racing accident in 2011.  His life was certainly celebrated in style with over 1500 people in attendance to watch the racing.

Early on, the stand out teams were Brodie Cohen/Chris Bottrell, Scott Christopher/Hagan Campbell and Hamish Golding/Josh Murray.  The team of Tyler Moon / Adam Lovell had a very tough start with 0 points from 2 rides.  They battled their way through to the B final where they won the race over some fierce competition.  When it was time for the A final the crowd was on it's feet, screaming for the Moon/Lovell team, but it wasn't going to be an easy race. Scott Christopher got the gate and were side by side with Cohen with Moon sitting in third by the smallest margin and Golding right on the rear of Moon.  Entering the third lap, Moon made an awesome move up the inside of Cohen to take the lead into turns 1/2.  Unfortunately Cohen then went in a little too hot, hit a rut and flipped his sidecar - with passenger Chris Bottrell, lucky to not be run over by the two sidecars behind him.  Bottrell required ambulance attention but was all clear to go home in the early hours of Sunday morning.

In the solos it was a super start for Ex-UK racer, Damien Koppe taking the first race win, but in the next races, it was all Kozza Smith with big leads from start to finish.  Smith is also an Ex-UK rider and really showed his class out on the track, with many in awe of what he managed to do on a motorcycle.  In the last race of the night, Smith came down in bend 3/4 with Koppe running him over and then careering back first into the fence. Koppe required immediate ambulance attention but he was later discharged from hospital with some bad bruising.  Final results were: Kozza Smith, Damien Koppe, Kayden Downing and Adam Lovell.

The junior solos were hotly contested with NSW youngster, Aiden Phillip leading the charge from local Australian Dirt Track Champion, Brayden Bradford.  Cooper Anderson was third with Nate Hicks from Bowen in fourth.

The senior stockbike final was won by another Australian Dirt Track champion, Kayden Downing.  Kayden lead a hotly contested field from start to finish and was untouchable in all his heats.


Number of views (2000)/Comments (0)

Are you a club or rider with a story to tell?
Email media@mqld.org.au with your news!

© 2014 - 2016 by Motorcycling Queensland