Sensational Saturday Speedway

Sensational Saturday Speedway

JTR Teams Challenge

Author: Media/Friday, September 29, 2017/Categories: State News

Maryborough took speedway to a new level on Saturday with hosting the JTR Teams Challenge. 250cc support riders Jacob Hook and Brock Tregea put on a great display to show what the future of speedway is going to be like.

The 10 riders in the 500cc support class proved that hard racing is alive and well in speedway.  Riding close to the wall to get the drive proved fruitful for Michael Stayte who took out the A final over Luke Kluver, Jessie Thompson and Scott Warwick-Day.The 5 sidecars provided even more entertainment on the night.  The flipping upside down of Tulloch and Green put hearts in mouths.  The riders were okay and after a restart, they brought the crowds to their feet with Tulloch & Green taking out the heat.

The final had the Schofield boys up against each other – Anthony with Luke Pomeroy, Gary with Phil Cox, along with Lance Tulloch & Tim Green and Geoff Godfrey & Clayton Cahill.  At the end of the 4 laps it was G Schofield & Cox who hit the line first, followed by A Schofield & Pomeroy, Godfrey & Cahill in 3rd with Tulloch & Green retiring during the race with car problems.

The teams event is what the huge crowd came to see and they weren’t disappointed.  SEQ, FNQ, QCC and NSW took to the track with some of the best riding we have seen.   Competition was fierce with the teams neck and neck on points throughout the night.  After the 5 rounds of competition SEQ finished on 35 points.  FNQ and NSW both finished on 31 and CQQ on 23. 

To cement 2nd and 3rd positions and take out the prize money, it came down to a ride off between FNQ and NSW.  This would have to be the ride of the night.

Kozza Smith (captain of the FNQ team) headed to the start line and to the surprise of a lot of the spectators young Kane Lawrence rode for the NSW team.  Had you been a betting man, you would have put your money on Kozza to take it out.

Kane however had different ideas and with a great start from the gates, kept up with Kozza for the first two laps. At the end of lap 2 Kane Lawrence overtook Kozza Smith and never looked back taking out the win to put NSW into 2nd position.

Final Points after the run off were SEQ 35, NSW 34, FNQ 33 and QCC 23

Massive THANK YOU to Maryborough Speedway, Wayne, Paul, Kay and all of the volunteers for the great preparation on this event.  THANKS also to all of the officials for the hard work throughout the night.  They were certainly kept on their toes with the close racing.


South East Queensland Team – Zaine Kennedy (Captain), Tyson Snow, Kye Thomson and Declan Kennedy with Ivor Harm (Manager)

New South Wales Team – Alan MacDonald (Captain), Hugh Skidmore, Josh MacDonald and Kane Lawrence with Billie Jean Lawrence (Manager)

Far North Queensland Team – Kozza Smith (Captain), Joel Coyne, Zane Keleher and Matt Pickering with Gary Davey (Manager)

Queensland Central Coast Team – Jordan Stewart (Captain), Aaron Jackson, Dalton Nilsen and Brandan Coglan with Craig Jung (Manager)


Though I have watched and enjoyed speedway many times over the years, this was my first ‘gig’ officiating at a senior event.  It was a great night for riders, spectators, volunteers and officials.  If clubs continue to work together for the good of the discipline then speedway will keep moving forward into the future.

                                    Tracey Tunstall – Chairperson MQ Speedway SubCommittee

Photography: Darrell Lockhart


Number of views (1614)/Comments (0)

Are you a club or rider with a story to tell?
Email with your news!

© 2014 - 2016 by Motorcycling Queensland