MPE Series for 2017

Author: Media/Friday, July 07, 2017/Categories: State News


The Clermont Junior Motorcycle Club had the track and facilities prepared and looking great for the event.   With 159 riders nominate for this round, racing was going to be a treat to watch. 

The Mini Lites 85cc 9-U12 years class was a highly-contested event with close racing between the top 3, Lachlan Hawkins (1st), Brenton Wilson (2nd), and 3rd on the day Riley Watson.  With this class, you can throw a net over the top ten contenders, so the final two rounds should see some great racing between these young guns.  The Mini Lites 85cc 12 –u16 class was also a close event, with the out right leader being Zackary Watson (1st), closely behind was Max Barrass (2nd) then Arran Humphreys (3rd).   This class will also be close for the top 5 for the overall results at the end of the series. 

The 65cc 7- U10 years saw Heath Fisher take the lead, Jackson Walsh 2nd place and a well fought 3rd place went to Bohdi Parr.  The 65cc 10 -12 years was a mirror finish of the 85cc 9-12 years with Lachlan Hawkins, just in front of Benton Wilson and Riley Watson.

Seniors Opens Class (QMX1) was won by Luke Weaver, although he didn’t win it lightly as he was being pushed around the circuit by Richard Egerton (2nd) and Brendan Swaffield (3rd) on his Kawasaki.

In the Senior Lites Class (QMX2) Ryan Eden had a big crash in Race 2 but finished and regrouped for the next race, which saw him take third for the overall with a strong 1st place to Luke Weaver and a great ride from Brodie Beard to take 2nd place overall.

In the Senior Womens Class Nicole Kenny won the event from Georgia Murray (2nd) and Georgie De Boni (3rd), 

In the Junior Lites classes Tye Jones still had everyone chasing his heels in both the 4 stroke and 2 stroke classes. Dylan Gook came a tidy second to Tye in the Junior Lites 4/ stroke class and Mitchell Alexander followed in third place.

The Masters Class was won by Peter Stapleton, juggling the lead with Scott Stewart in 2nd place and pulling up in 3rd place was Shawn Kenny.

The Clubman Open Class was won by Ashley Carvolth and an impressive ride by Joel Rayner saw him take 2nd with Michael Mackellar finishing in 3rd place overall.

The Clubman Lites class was won by Benny Streeter, with Alex Mau (2nd) and in 3rd place was Jamie Warr.

To see all results visit here

The next event is  in Mackay on the 8th and 9th of July, with the last round heading to Rockhampton on the 15th and 16th July for the end of the series .  

To enter for round 6 at Rockhampton visit here (this could also be an opportunity for the Womens and Vets to get some track time in before the Championships!)



Number of views (1634)/Comments (0)

Are you a club or rider with a story to tell?
Email media@mqld.org.au with your news!

© 2014 - 2016 by Motorcycling Queensland