Orange to Ocean Wrap

Orange to Ocean Wrap

Author: Media/Tuesday, May 30, 2017/Categories: State News

The 4th round was completed at Rum City on May 28th, 2017 with the series winners being crowned. All 4 rounds were well supported and feedback was very positive from the tracks, the venues, great competition and how well the days were run. Thanks to Central Burnett, Biloela, Gladstone and Rum City committee and volunteers for your effort in putting on such great days of racing.

Lee and Olivia Voss typify what MX is about and Lee has come out of retirement now his children Olivia and Ryan have started in the Demo class. The family traveled from Mundubbera for the whole series and left Rum City with a car packed full of trophies. Lee took the win in the Senior Open and Vets 30-40 years classes and although he did not actually win a days round, the consistency paid off. Geordie McGrath finished 2nd for the series and Nathan Webber was 3rd in the Senior Open class. In the Vets 30-40 years Nathan Weber was 2nd and Peter Kop 3rd. Peter Kop reigned supreme in the Clubman Open class and took the win ahead of Josh Putman and Mitchell Evans. Kop put in a very strong performance winning every race in the final 3 rounds. 

In the Junior Lites class Dylan Gook came to Rum City undefeated after 3 rounds but Sunday was not his day. Even after a DNF in the final race, he still walked away with the series win. Proving consistency pays off, Cleveland Lade and Rhys Peterson took out 2nd and 3rd for the series. 

In the 65cc 7-under 10 years class it was a battle of the Tate boys with Koby taking the win ahead of Beau. Lochlan Grant was 3rd in this class. Whilst there was not a lot of competitors in the 65cc 10-under 12 class the competition was hot. Wyatt Hair took home 1st place from Brodie Jenner and Sam Castle. The same 3 riders also did battle in the Mini Lites 9-under 12 years where Sam Castle came out on top from Brodie Jenner and Wyatt Hair. Hair finishing 1 point behind Jenner after he suffered a bike failure in the last race.  In the Vets over 40’s class Terry Scarborough was a clear winner 79 points ahead of Frank Tate. Troy Bissett took home 3rd place in the series. 

The Ladies class saw Kirra Baxter put her name on the winners trophy ahead of Carol Webber and Prue Maeyke. Only small fields in the 50cc Auto 2 class but Ezra Jenner showed the rest of the field the way to the chequered flag. Jenner was a beacon of consistency not winning a round but completing every race. Cooper Downing took home 2nd place and Slade Oberhardt finished 3rd after flawless riding at the final 2 rounds.

The Senior Lites class saw a win to Ojai Maguire from Lachlan Lee. The Mundubbera members battled till the last race with only 15 points separating them for the series. Rum City’s Ronni Hobi took home 1st place in the Clubman Lites class winning every round along the way. Tye Shaw and Tim Althaus completed the podium. The Mini Lites 12 – under 16 years class saw Zac Perry take home the spoils with a 67 point buffer back to 2nd place Ryan Scarborough and 3rd place going to Jake Thompson. With Gladstone winning the Clubman Open, Vets over 40, Ladies and both Mini lites classes the overall club winner points were tallied and Gladstone took home the winning club trophy. The final points finished at Biloela 7172, Rum City 9188, Mundubbera 10,022 and Gladstone 12,227. 

Congratulations to all the Gladstone members who competed. 


Number of views (1816)/Comments (0)

Are you a club or rider with a story to tell?
Email with your news!

© 2014 - 2016 by Motorcycling Queensland