2016 Yamaha MQ Awards Night Recap

2016 Yamaha MQ Awards Night Recap

Author: Media/Wednesday, December 14, 2016/Categories: State News

Yamaha presented the 2016 Motorcycling Queensland Awards Night last Friday, 9th December 2016.

Over 200 riders attended the night, some travelling from as far as Cairns, Mackay, Gladstone and Townsville. Motorcycling Queensland was also delighted to have Motocross great Stephen Gall in attendance, as well as special guests from Yamaha and Claire Lawrence from Motorcycling Australia.

Nine News Weather Presenter Garry Youngberry again MC’d the night, and started by calling forward Queensland officials who have dedicated 10 or 20 years to the sport. View the full list of officials and awards recipients on the Honor Roll here.

The Official of the Year Award was presented to John Walker, who has spent nearly a decade working as Clerk of Course for the Sunshine State MX Series. Alisha Bell from Sunshine Coast Motorcycle Club took out the Volunteer of the Year, due to the amount of effort and time she puts in to volunteering at Sunshine Coast Motorcycle Club, and other clubs as required.

Some of the most anticipated awards on the night included Queensland’s Senior and Junior International Riders of the Year. In the Seniors, Jack Miller took out the top spot, and sent through a video speech accepting the award. After placing third in the World Speedway 250cc Championships, Jedd List took home the Junior International Rider of the Year.

Jedd again took another accolade in the LKI Junior Achiever of the Year, recognising Queensland’s best performing junior rider. In the seniors, Dean Ferris took out this award following a big year competing in the Motocross of Nations, the New Zealand Motocross Nationals (check)

The Event of the Year was another big award, with three strong finalists in the ASBK Rd 5 at Morgan Park, the Grasstree Beach Races and Queensland Vintage MX (QVMX) Club’s Women’s Week Coaching Day. The Grasstree Beach races took the top spot, following a massive effort by Gum Valley Natural Terrain and Veterans to get the event back up and running in 2016.

Yamaha presented the final award to be unveiled on the night; the 2016 Club of the Year. Finalists included the Brisbane Motorcycle Club, QVMX and Toowoomba Motorcycle Club. Toowoomba took home the award, following a very successful year both on and off the track. In July 2016, the club teamed up with the Brisbane West Wellcamp Airport, running a trail ride to raise valuable funds for prostate cancer research. Toowoomba managed to raise a whopping $60,000 towards the cause.

Brisbane Motorcycle Club and QVMX were named as tied second place for the Yamaha Club of the Year. The votes came in from the Awards Night Panel, and there was nothing between the two clubs.

Motorcycling Queensland would like to congratulate all Award Winners on their tremendous efforts in 2016, and thank Yamaha for their generous support of the night.

Thanks also to LKI, who looked after our juniors with the LKI Junior Achiever of the Year Award.

To view a complete list of all winners and finalists, click here. More photos are available from the MQ Facebook page.


Number of views (1811)/Comments (0)

Are you a club or rider with a story to tell?
Email media@mqld.org.au with your news!

© 2014 - 2016 by Motorcycling Queensland