Malkiewicz, Watson and Smerdon take AJMX titles

Malkiewicz, Watson and Smerdon take AJMX titles

Author: Media/Tuesday, October 04, 2016/Categories: State News

The 2016 Australia Junior MX Championship (AJMX) wrapped up in South Australia over the weekend, where the nation’s newest Aussie Motocross Champions were crowned.

From Queensland, Bailey Malkiewicz took the 85cc/150cc 14-U16 Years class honours, whilst fellow Sunny State rider Zachary Watson snatched the 65cc 11 Years Championship crown, and Noah Smerdon claimed the 65cc 9 – u11 years title.

Other notable Queensland positions include:
*Deegan Mancinelli – 2nd place, 65cc 11 Years
*Tye Jones, 2nd place, 85cc / 150cc 12 – u14 Years
*Brad West, 2nd place, 85cc / 150cc 9 – u12 Years
*Jet Alsop, 2nd place, 65cc 7-u9 years
*Jake Cuka, 3rd place, 85cc/150cc 12 – u14 years
*William Kennedy, 3rd place, 65cc 9 – u11 years
*Jake Cannon, 3rd place, 50cc 7 – u9 years

Team Queensland also took out the State Trophy - congratulations!

Read about some of the finals action below:

65cc 9-U11 Years – Final 2
The 65cc 9-U11 Years class had their first chance to hit the track at Renmark late this afternoon, and after finishing in second in his 85cc final this morning, KTM’s Noah Smerdon continued with his form in the 65cc race too.
After leading from the minute the gate dropped, Smerdon stayed smart and consistent throughout the seven lap race to keep Ryder Kingsford, and Jett Burgess-Stevens at bay.
And when the chequered flag was waved, Smerdon collected an unchallenged victory. Kingsford crossed the line in second position ahead of Burgess-Stevens, while Seth Burchell wrapped up his second final in fourth place .
85cc/150cc 14-U16 Years – Final 5 (Championship decider)
The 85cc/150cc 14-U16 years class headed out for their 2016 KTM AJMX decider this afternoon, and riders were treated to tacky and grippy track conditions for their last final of the championship.
After suffering bike issues throughout the week, Bailey Malkiewicz only had one option in his last race and that was to win. So with a victory on his mind, the Husqvarna rider burst out of his gate and in to the race lead ahead of John Bova and Tyler Darby.
With Malkiewicz out in front, Bova and Darby started their battle for second position, but unfortunately their fight ended prematurely with the pair crashing in the front section of the track, handing second place to Michael Murphy.
But thankfully for Bova, the young rider still had plenty of energy left in the tank, and as the race reached its closing stages, Bova made the pass on Murphy for second where he stayed for the remainder of the moto.
But the man of the moment was Malkiewicz, who not only took the final race victory but collected the 85cc/150cc 14-U16 Years 2016 Australian Junior Championship. Second in the final race was Bova, followed by Murphy in third.
With Malkiewicz crowned champ, Bova walked away from today as the 85cc/150cc 14-U16 Years runner up, while Darby finished in third overall at this year’s KTM AJMX.
65cc 11 Years – Final 5 (Championship decider)
It was Liam Atkinson’s time to shine in the 65cc 11 years KTM AJMX championship decider this afternoon, and despite the temperature dropping and the wind picking up, the young riders showed real maturity throughout their seven-minute race.
After only one lap, Atkinson moved in to the lead position where he remained for the entire race. Angus Riordan put in one of his most impressive rides of the week to cross the line in second position, while Deegan Mancinelli clawed his way back from fifth place to eventually wrap up his last race in third.
But despite not placing in the top three in the final race of the week, fifth this afternoon was all that was required to reward young Zachary Watson with a 65cc 11 years Australian Title. Second place in the overall standings was taken by Mancinelli, while Myles Gilmore’s consistent results saw him awarded with third in the championship.
128-150cc/200-250cc 13-U15 Years Championship
1) Mason Semmens – 168 points
2) Rhys Budd – 163 points
3) Regan Duffy – 142 points
4) John Bova – 138 points
5) Korey McMahon – 125 points
85cc/150cc 12-U16 Years Female Championship
1) Tahlia O’Hare – 167 points
2) Tanesha Harnett – 158 points
3) Ebony Harris – 150 points
4) Madison Healey – 148 points
5) Kara Cats – 128 points
85cc/150cc 14-U16 Years Championship
1) Bailey Malkiewicz – 163 points
2) John Bova – 159 points
3) Tyler Darby – 154 points
4) Michael Murphy – 138 points
5) Ryan Morgan – 128 points
65cc 11 Years Championship
1) Zachary Watson – 161 points
2) Deegan Mancinelli – 146 points
3) Myles Gilmore – 144 points
4) Liam Atkinson – 140 points
5) Angus Riordan – 140 points
View all results on MYLAPS here.


Number of views (2184)/Comments (0)

Are you a club or rider with a story to tell?
Email with your news!

© 2014 - 2016 by Motorcycling Queensland