QLD MX Champs fiercely contested in Mackay

QLD MX Champs fiercely contested in Mackay

Author: Media/Monday, August 22, 2016/Categories: State News

The first round of the Yamaha Queensland Motocross Championships kicked off in Mackay on August 13 – 14, 2016.  

Backed again by Yamaha and Motorex, competitors were required to qualify through the RXT Shell Sunshine State Series (SEQ), the MPE CQ Motocross Series (CQ) or the JR’s Motorcycles TNQ MX Series (TNQ).

Mackay Junior Motocross Club hosted the opening round, and did a fantastic job at preparing the track and facilities for all the action of the weekend.


In the MX1 class, Luke Weaver shot ahead to take first place in Race 1, but second place-getter Zak Small, wouldn’t let Weaver take the round win.

In some very heated racing, Small took the top podium position in Races 2 and 3, giving him the round win in the MX1 Class five points ahead of Weaver in second. Event Coordinator Robbie Marshall showed he’s still high in the ranks in Queensland Motocross competition, taking a third for the round on 92 points.


The MX2 class equally thrilled spectators over the weekend, with Nathan Crawford taking three wins from three races in the opening round. Richie Evans was hot on Crawford’s tail, and wrapped up every race in second place. Third spot for the round went to Luke Weaver, who sat just three points ahead of local Ryan Eden in the final tally.

To check out full results from the round, head to the MYLAPS result page here.


A big thanks to Mackay Junior Motocross Club for all of the effort they put into the venue, and to Dylan Wicks from Powerhouse Photography for all of the live photos, updates and results on the Qld Motocross Championships Facebook Page over the weekend. 

Round 2 of the Championships will move to Hervey Bay on September 3 – 4, 2016.

In the meantime, check out some of the action from round 1 in this video:

(Image thanks to Dylan Wicks / Powerhouse Photography)


Number of views (2525)/Comments (0)

Are you a club or rider with a story to tell?
Email media@mqld.org.au with your news!

© 2014 - 2016 by Motorcycling Queensland