Stay Upright Australian Supermoto Champs a success

Stay Upright Australian Supermoto Champs a success

Author: Media/Thursday, August 11, 2016/Categories: State News

The 2016 Stay Upright Australian Supermoto Championship were conducted over the weekend of the 29th – 31st July determining the Supermoto PRO and WOMEN champions for 2016.
The Supermoto Junior classes were the first bikes on track each day warming up both the spectators and riders. Ryan Moscadini (#444) set a blistering time in qualifying to place himself in the number one grid position for the first race in front of the hard charging pair of Lucas Quinn (#144) and Jack Pemberton (#55). Will Pemberton (#87) rode superbly, securing himself a place on the second row of the grid.

Ryan Moscadini (#444 – 100 points) rode superbly in all four races, finishing first each race and securing the overall junior class trophy. The fight for the second and third place trophies was tightly contested between Jack Pemberton (#55 – 86 points) and Lucas Quinn (#144 – 82 points) all weekend, swapping places in each race and keeping the spectators enthralled. Will Pemberton (#87 – 72 points) rode superbly all weekend, improving his personal best numerous times over the course of the event.
The Supermoto Veterans was the next class on track. Ross “Maestro” Taylor (#50) put on a display of superb Supermoto riding to secure pole position with Justin “Schuey” Schuberg (#24) closely behind in the number 2 spot. Max Nulley (#545) rounded out the top three on the front row.

Ross “Maestro” Taylor (#50 – 100 points) showed just what it takes to be a champion by dominating the veteran’s class on his TM, winning every race over the weekend. Local stalwart Justin “Schuey” Schuberg (#24 – 88 points) displayed his true potential by taking out the second place trophy just ahead of Brad Trivett (#11) in third place.
The Supermoto clubman class was closely contested all weekend. Klaieton Hepworth (#K7) rode superbly to secure pole position after coming back from a Supermoto lay off. Alex Ippolito (#22) lined up in second position with David Bell (#11) pushing Brett “the Beast” Mcleish (#212) off the front row by a single tenth of a second.

Alex Ippolito (#22 – 94 points) secured the first place trophy by finishing 1st, 2nd, 1st and 2nd over the weekend. Brett “the Beast” Mcleish (#212 – 88 points) followed closely behind in second place narrowly beating local rider (Klaieton Hepworth (#K7 – 82 points).

In the Supermoto OPEN class Andrew “Mullet” Mcleish (#212) secured pole position narrowly edging out Ross “Maestro” Taylor (#50) by two tenths of a second. Luke Traill (#884) making a comeback to Supermoto racing, rounded out the front row in position three.

Andrew “Mullet” Mcleish (#212 – 94 points) and Ross “Maestro” Taylor (#50 – 94 points), who set a new Supermoto OPEN lap record (1:13.977), went head to head in each race finishing 1st and 2nd twice each over the weekend and keeping the spectators on the edge of their seats for all four races. Ross “Maestro” Taylor (#50) stepped onto the podium to take the number one trophy after Andrew “Mullet” Mcleish (#212) jump started in race four earning a 15 second penalty and narrowly missing out on beating the deficit by just under 3 seconds. The third place trophy was also decided on a countback with NSW Supermoto Club member Darren Webb (#5) edging out his compatriot Nicholas Shields (#227).
The Supermoto WOMEN’s class was fantastic viewing for spectators and riders alike with competitors travelling from as far afield as Western Australia and Victoria to compete. With only a single second between the first three riders on the front row, after qualifying, the women’s class was going to be a closely fought affair. Jessica Boujos (#93) showed her diversity and talent by taking pole position, barely two tenths of a second in front of Stephany James (#46), with Lahrra Cloak (#51) rounding out the front row.

2014 ASBK 250 Production class winner, Jessica Boujos (#93 – 100 points), put on a real display of her immense talent by taking out the women’s class, winning all four races. Lahrra Cloak (#51 – 84 points) showed consistency is key by finishing 2nd, 2nd, 3rd and 3rd to take out the second place trophy ahead of Stephany James (#46 – 77 points), who struggled for consistency in the early races.
The Supermoto PRO class was action packed from the get go, with the first four qualifiers barely one second apart. Andrew “Mullet” Mcleish (#212) secured his second pole position of the weekend, closely followed by Adam Miller (#46) and Brad Matheson (#111).

Andrew “Mullet” Mcleish (#212 – 100 points) put on a true display of Supermoto talent by leading and winning all four races from start light to checkered flag, taking out the number one trophy and Australia’s Supermoto PRO Championship and setting a new Supermoto PRO lap record (1:13.918). Adam Miller (#46 – 88 points), earned himself the second place trophy, narrowly holding out the hard charging Joshua “Mad dog” Maclean (#60 – 74 points) who, after receiving a jump start penalty in race one, finished the last three races in third position.
The Color Studio Dash 4 Cash was the last event in the program and contained the fastest 24 qualifiers from all races and qualifying. The grid was decided using a peg draw and resulted in some incredible racing and passing. Andrew “Mullet” Mcleish (#212) once again showed his true talent to fight his way through the pack and take out the prize money. Adam Miller (#46) also showed consistency throughout the weekend by taking home the cash for second, just in front of a fast finishing Ross “maestro” Taylor (#50).

Full results and times are available on the MyLaps website here.


Number of views (2335)/Comments (0)

Are you a club or rider with a story to tell?
Email with your news!

© 2014 - 2016 by Motorcycling Queensland