Queensland Classic & Post Classic Champs Wrap

Queensland Classic & Post Classic Champs Wrap

Author: Media/Tuesday, May 17, 2016/Categories: State News

The 2016 Classic and Post Classic Championships hosted by the Brisbane MCC at Harrisville were  run and won on April 23 – 24, 2016.

Ideal weather and one of the best Classic tracks in Australia brought out the best in the sport.

Entries were up about 40% on 2015 which was 15% up on 2014, so Classic Motocross is alive and well. Particularly pleasing was the strength of the Evolution class with 68 bikes competing over the three capacities.

Age of riders ranged from 16yrs to 78yrs, and machines from Glen Wollenwebber's 1957 Jawa to Kirk Hutton’s 1989 Yamaha showed just how diverse the bikes and riders are, which adds to the fascination of the sport.

The huge range of classes and riders meant a massive presentation with something like 100 trophies and medals presented, however with master of ceremonies Rory Macdonald presiding and Brisbane MCC "girls" sorting it went off with a few minor glitches.

Event sponsor Paul Chippendale did the handshaking and added to the colour of the occasion.

The usual suspects were very fast, such as Brad van Barello, Justin Rooney, Kirk Hutton and others in Post Classic, with Wayne Skyring and Justin McMahon getting more than a share of the spoils in Classic.

View all results on MYLAPS here.

The next major event is the Australian Classic Championship on June 18 - 19, and with entries flooding in from all states (30 bikes from WA) it looks to being a great event.

(Photos thanks to Troy Pears)


Number of views (1925)/Comments (0)

Are you a club or rider with a story to tell?
Email media@mqld.org.au with your news!

© 2014 - 2016 by Motorcycling Queensland