Snow snaps up Solo Speedway title

Snow snaps up Solo Speedway title

Author: Media/Tuesday, March 01, 2016/Categories: State News

Tyson Snow clinched the first major win of his career when he lifted the Queensland Under 21 solo title on the fast, almost circular Maryborough track on February 27.

Electric gating propelled the 20 year old to four straight heat wins, before a classy romp home in the A Final. Riding the high line for maximum grip, Snow made no mistake in this, his last chance at an Under 21 crown before his July birthday. It was an exciting meeting with much close quarter, elbow-to-elbow racing, thrilling a crowd of around a thousand.

Seventeen year old Zaine Kennedy, who is coming on in leaps and bounds, was a creditable runner-up and is shaping up as a hot prospect for the future.

After nailing the B Final, Dale Borlase took out third place, while Josh MacDonald fell and did not finish. Bad luck struck Matt Day, touted as a strong contender, with an early blown motor.

Stylish youngster Jedd List was invincible in the 250cc section, with Declan Kennedy also putting up a strong showing.

Jacob Hook and Rowan Millar dominated the junior 125cc class.

The sidecar final was won by Tyler Moon/Adam Lovell from Scott Fisher/Darren Wade. It was a pleasing return to the track for Fisher, who has been undergoing treatment for health issues. Chris Hughes/Aaron Smith, who topped with points with Moon on 10 apiece, filled third place.  Garry Schofield/Lance Tulloch rounded off the field.
U-21 Solo Points:Tyson Snow 12, Zaine Kennedy 9, Josh MacDonald 9, Dale Borlase 8, Joel Coyne 6, Robert Gottardi 6, Dalton Nilsen 6, Kye Thomson 5, Matt Day 4, Kane Lawrence 1, Adam Lovell 0.
B Final: Borlase, Nilsen, Gottardi (F), Coyne (F).
A Final: Snow, Kennedy, Borlase,  MacDonald (F).

For a full list of results, click here.

Number of views (2896)/Comments (0)

Are you a club or rider with a story to tell?
Email with your news!

© 2014 - 2016 by Motorcycling Queensland