Queenslanders shine at ASBK

Queenslanders shine at ASBK

Author: Media/Monday, February 29, 2016/Categories: State News

The opening round of the Australian Superbike Championship (ASBK) kicked off at Phillip Island on the weekend, and Sunny State riders showed they’re revved and ready for the 2016 Road Race season.


In the Superbike class, Victorian Glen Allerton took the win ahead of current Australian Superbike Champion (and Queenslander) Mike Jones.

This year marks Jones’ debut on a Ducati for the Bayliss-backed DesmoSport team.  

Victorian Wayne Maxwell placed third behind Jones, with NSW riders Troy Herfoss and Michael Blair in fourth and fifth places respectively.


In the Supersport class, Queensland Troy Guenther topped the podium, with fellow Sunny State rider Callum Spriggs in second. Luke Mitchell (NSW) placed in third, Chris Quinn (NSW) in fourth and Ben Blyth (VIC) in fifth.

Guenther said the round win was a lot of hard work, but he enjoyed the chance to get back out on the track.

“I really enjoyed that last race and the Pirelli tyres seemed to handle the conditions really well. My plans are to race the ASBK Championship this year, just really commit to that and see what we can do.

“I wasn’t 100 per cent sure what to expect for the opening round, I was quite confident coming in but my aim was to try and win a race, win the round, and that’s what we came away with so I am really happy for myself and the team.”                             

Moto 3

Queenslanders really shone in the Moto3 class, with four of the top five riders hailing from the Sunshine State.

Brian Houghton came in first, Locky Taylor in second, NSW rider Tom Edwards third, Lachlan Cavney fourth and Tayla Relph in fifth.

Second placegetter Locky Taylor is just shy of 15, but will be one to watch in this year’s championship.

“I was just kind of lurking at the start to see what lines they were taking and how fast they were going and then I was trying my heart out to try and stick with them,” Taylor said.

“It was a good race; I was trying my heart out. Tommy Edwards got on the inside of me and last corner, I just held it nailed and tried to slip stream it down the straight and luckily got him, real happy with the race.”

Period 5 / 6

In the Australian Period 5 / 6, the field was dominated by Victorians, with Craig Ditchburn, Dean Oughtred, Marty Craggil, and Scott Webster in first to fourth places respectively. Queenslander Murray Clark rounded out the top five.

For full results from the opening round, click here.


Number of views (1779)/Comments (0)

Are you a club or rider with a story to tell?
Email media@mqld.org.au with your news!

© 2014 - 2016 by Motorcycling Queensland