2016 Southern Downs Series springs to life

2016 Southern Downs Series springs to life

Author: Media/Thursday, February 25, 2016/Categories: State News

The 2016 Road Racing season has kicked off, with the opening round of the Pirelli Southern Downs Road Race Series on February 13 – 14.

The weather was hot, and the competition was close. Most of the 117 entrants had not ridden in months, and round 1 was time to shake off the cobwebs and see if their offseason training put them in good stead to challenge for the title.

With so many riders looking to continue improving their performance, it’s shaping up to be another absolute cracker year of racing. A fantastic team of officials ensured the meeting ran like clockwork, with every race running the full number of laps and both days finished on schedule.

Motorcycle Sportsmen of Queensland Vice President Simon Dickson says it was great to see such a great turn out, on and off the track.

“There was a very good number of spectators, and they did a great job cheering on the riders, he says.

“The atmosphere at the track is a great part of the Southern Downs Road Race Series at Morgan Park Raceway.

“Our officials did an amazing job of running the weekend getting every lap on the schedule completed.”

Congratulations To Our Round 1 Class Winners

•    Formula 1 - #82 Ryan Yanko
•    Formula 2 - #32 Dylan Mavin
•    Formula 3 - #66 Chris Dunster
•    Formula 4 - #4 Anthony Carroll
•    Formula 6 - #07 Leo Cash
•    Moto3/125GP - #17 Brian Houghton
•    250/300 Production - #8 Simon Dickson
•    Supermoto - #75 Adam Griffin
•    Sidecar - #82 David Boughen & Lok O’Kane

Queensland Road Race Championship Leaders

The Southern Downs Road Race Series incorporates the Queensland Road Race Championships. Round 1 and 3 are championship rounds for the 250/300 Production class and the Moto3/125GP class. Round 2 and 4 decide the Sidecar and Formula 3 Queensland champions. Formula 1 and 2 battle it out for honours at rounds 3 and 5.

•    250/300 Production - #8 Simon Dickson
•    Moto3/125GP - #17 Brian Houghton

2015 Queensland Champion, Simon Dickson made a perfect start to his title defence. With an ever growing field of riders chasing him down, he will have his work cut out for him.

Brian Houghton is another defending champion from 2015, and he is not showing any sign of slowing. If the new breed want to take his title they will have to earn it!

Round 2 of the Southern Downs Road Race Series is held over the weekend of the April 2 -3, and the Masters of Morgan Park take place on the May 14 - 15.

The Masters of Morgan Park will incorporate a Parade for the public to get involved in on their road registered motorcycles.

For more information about the Motorcycle Sportsmen of Queensland, head to their website or Facebook page.


Number of views (2312)/Comments (0)

Are you a club or rider with a story to tell?
Email media@mqld.org.au with your news!

© 2014 - 2016 by Motorcycling Queensland